• b0arding
  • Posts
  • Kate Winslet has spoken out about the tabloid harassment she suffered early in her career.

Kate Winslet has spoken out about the tabloid harassment she suffered early in her career.

Kate Winslet Remembers Tabloids Body-Shaming Her after ‘Titanic’: ‘’They Would Comment On My Size’’

Kate Winslet recalls tabloids “straight-up brutal’ behavior after the ‘Titanic.’

‘Titanic’ star Kate Winslet is calling out the media harassment she suffered early in her career.

‘Titanic’ actress Kate Winslet is calling out the tabloid treatment she received early in her career. Recently opened up about the “awful” body-shaming she faced from the media and public.

Appeared on Happy Sad Confused podcast ahead of the film’s 25th anniversary. Says if she could turn back the clock, she would have used her voice in a completely different way.

According to People magazine, the Oscar winner, 47, recently got candid about her experience in the 1997 James Cameron blockbuster ‘Titanic,’ including the “awful” body-shaming she faced from the media and public, as she appeared on the Happy Sad Confused podcast ahead of the film’s 25th anniversary.

“Apparently, I was too obese,” Kate Winslet said of some of the most scathing claims about why Jack (Leonardo DiCaprio) couldn’t fit through the door before he died. “Isn’t it awful? Why were they so mean to me? They were so mean. I wasn’t even f******* fat.”

Kate Winslet continued: “If I could turn back the time, I would have utilized my voice in a completely different way…. I would have said to journalists, I would have responded: ‘Don’t you dare disrespect me like I would have said to journalists,

I would have responded: ‘Don’t you dare disrespect me like I’m a young woman, my body is changing, I’m figuring it out, I’m extremely insecure, and I’m afraid; don’t make it any more difficult than it already is.’ That’s bullying, and its borderline abusive, in my opinion.”

She previously told up about the “straight-up brutal” treatment she received from tabloids, telling The Guardian in February: “I was still figuring out who the heck I bloody well was!”

“They’d comment on my size, guess how much I weighed, and print the alleged diet I was on,” Kate Winslet remembered. “It was critical and terrible and very sad to read.”