• b0arding
  • Posts
  • School bus driver charged after brake-checking young students.

School bus driver charged after brake-checking young students.

Video from inside a bus captured the jolt that sent Castle Rock Elementary School students’ faces into the backs of seats in Colorado Springs.

A US bus driver has been charged with 30 counts of child abuse after he deliberately hit the brakes to teach his passengers a lesson.

Footage showed the primary school-aged children being shoved forward by the impact of the bus stopping.

Brian Fitzgerald, 61, is seen in the footage berating the children before break-checking them. He tells them to be in their seats and adds, “You want to see how dangerous that is?” He then slams on the brakes at 9 mph.

The driver tells the students: “Did you get that? That’s why you need to be in your seat, turn around and sit down properly.”

“I am still 100% responsible for my actions in trying to both educate and control students on the bus,” Fitzgerald conceded.

“Being new driver, I did not make the best decisions and if I were able to redo what I did I would rethink my decisions.” Fitzgerald has since been fired from his job and faces 30 misdemeanor charges of child abuse.